My invitation must have gotten lost in the mail…

So, what kind of English blog-type-site would this be if I didn’t mention the Royal Wedding?

Ah yes, the happy couple, HRH Prince William of the House of Windsor (I know it’s Wales, just go with it…) and Miss Catherine Middleton of the House of… um…Middleton, are set to wed Friday next in front of about a gazillion people.

Where will you be watching? Will you be taking off work? Will you be fortunate enough to view the nuptials first hand? Please, do tell!

In the likely event that my plan to bunk off work falls through, I will be TiVo-ing the wedding and plan to settle in for a nice fast-forward through some time this weekend. Of course, tea and perhaps some spotted dick will be served, thank you.

Kate (best friend-Kate, not future queen-Kate) will be watching from her hotel room in London; perhaps even roaming the streets, hoping to stumble into the reception or a local after-party.

What’s this?

Yes, she’ll be in London on Friday, on her way back from a quick pop over to Europe for some time with her dad. I’m not bitter, and here’s why: her original plan was to pay (along with her bro, Tim) for a trip to France for her dad’s 50th birthday. Instead, he said he’d rather the kids just pay for their own tickets and join him in…Germany. To my knowledge this trip will now also include Switzerland, but that may also depend on how ambitious Kate and Tim are feeling. It’s a bit odd not having communication with her for an extended period of time. I don’t care for it.

So, the wedding! I am glad Prince Wills has finally decided to settle down. Oooh, can you imagine if all of a sudden he backed out? What a scandal! Anyway, I like Kate Middleton, I think she’ll make a fine queen. She’s a commoner, but does she seem common to anyone? Royals have married common folk before, but Kate just doesn’t strike me as such. This might be why she’s held in such high regard with Her Majesty The Queen. Who knows, but congrats to her for being able to crack that shell!

When I was in high school, I was gaga for Wills, but now I like the look of young Prince Harry. I should also mention we share the same birthday. Could that mean we’re meant to be, or that we were separated at birth? Hmm… Which would I prefer? Again, I say… hmmm…

While I’m actually quite pleased that I won’t be in town during an event that causes the crowds in London to swell exponentially, I would someday like to be the recipient of an invitation in which the sender has been commanded by The Queen (King?) to send. That’s bloody hardcore, yeah?

Ta.

3 Responses to My invitation must have gotten lost in the mail…

  1. kim says:

    i will send you mine

  2. A recent poll (can’t remember where I saw it) stated that only 6 percent of Americans are interested in the royal wedding. I find that hard to believe. I can’t wait! Yes, I’ll set my alarm for 4 a.m. and plan to catch every moment possible. Hubby, on the other hand, not so interested. Can’t win ’em all.

    • With all of the blanket media coverage, there’s no way only 6 percent of Americans are interested in this! What a grotesque waste of money, if it’s true. I think I’d buy only 6 percent willing to ADMIT to being interested. =) But, I’m with ya! I’ll be up bright and early, with my tea and scone… still scheming that day off of work.

Leave a Reply

