England or Bust #3: Paris on the table…

Parlez-vous Francais? Oui! Oui! Mais, mon ami n’a pas… I could probably go on, but I’m sure I’d rather not reveal my ability to butcher the written French word. Anyway, I speak French, at least enough to get by (used to be almost fluent, but let’s not…let’s just not) but Kate doesn’t.

This could be very interesting.

Kate has, however, been to Paris. Our plan is to hop over to France via the Eurostar from St. Pancras and spend two nights in the City of Lights. Originally, we were talking about Scotland, but we’ve both been there, and we’d like to spend the majority of our trip in Mother England, so… Paris is winning.

Of course, we may end up in Amsterdam or Prague or Istanbul by the time this all gets settled, but for now, Paris is on the table.

9 Responses to England or Bust #3: Paris on the table…

  1. Obsessed Midwest Gardener says:

    I don’t blame you forgiving up on the French. Once, in Paris, a guy said to me, “Plez, speeka Eeeenglish. You defile my language with your orreeble pro nunce ee a see own.” Now I go to Italy, where they love you for trying.

  2. I must say I’d go to Paris. I’ve heard so much about it from friends and family, It’s become on of my top ‘if ever possible destinations’ along with Tokyo, Venice and Rome. As for the language, I’m in about the same place you are-used to be almost fluent but now…Anyway, you might be able to pick up enough just listening to get your skills back. Just a thought. Whatever you do, hope it’s a great time.

    • I hadn’t thought of that – maybe just being around the language again will help it all come back. I think I’ll grab a phrase book (I’d take one of my text books, but I don’t want to stick out more than I have to) and I might be good to go after a few hours, yeah? Thanks!

  3. I’m looking into pre-marriage counseling for me and my fiance. It all seems lame. Weird people, that want to tell us how to stay married, I don’t trust them, but I want to stand the test of time, and go to counseling first. I just thought last night, maybe we should backpack around Europe for a month, and if we’re still in love after that, then we’ll get married. That might be enough pre-marritable counseling, think? Neither of us have ever been to Europe.

    • I think that’s an excellent idea! Especially Europe, especially if you’ve never been there. I think it will provide just enough of a challenge that if you can overcome any obstacles, you’re probably pretty solid. Plus, romantic, right? =) Best of luck!

    • Laurie says:

      Anna, it’s too bad wallpaper went out of style. It used to be that if a couple could survive wallpapering a room together, it was a match made in heaven.

  4. Laurie says:

    Is the Eurostar from St. Pancras the Chunnel? I could never understand being a mile or whatever under the floor of the ocean. Then I read that there are actually three tunnels. The two that go in both directions and a third that’s used for maintenance and emergencies. That doesn’t sound so bad.

  5. Wendi says:

    I think you should definitely make a stop in Paris, especially if you’ve already been to Scotland.

Leave a Reply

