England or Bust #1: Like a local…

So, I’m goin’ to London! Well, landing in London, most likely. From there, we shall have to see. What I need to know from YOU is, what should I do once I’m there?

‘Spose you’ll need to know when I’m going. Early-ish October.

I’ve been to England a four or five times (do layovers count?) so I’ve done a lot of the tourist attractions. I’d still go back to some; the Tower, Westminster Abbey, Royal Albert Hall. But I’d like to change it up, live like I live there and all of that.

We’re planning on going to a match at White Hart Lane, and I do believe England will be playing abroad while we’re there, so it would be fun to find a nice pub for that (IDEAS, PLEASE!), and I’ll need to visit Bexleyheath and perhaps Greenwich, but I’m open to suggestions.

So please, which are the best pubs, chippys, clubs, hotels, shops, markets, arcades, neighborhoods, and so on…

Readyyyyy, go!

1998: My first trip to London

7 Responses to England or Bust #1: Like a local…

  1. L. Otto says:

    Oooh, how exciting! If you haven’t been to the British Library, it’s a must-see. You can view rare manuscripts such as the Magna Carta, Beatles
    manuscripts, and Jane Austen’s diary, I believe.

    http://www.bl.uk/

  2. 7 month to count down! It will be here before you know it. Yes, layovers count. Would this be your first time going to London?

  3. Exciting, I’ve never been to Europe, I suppose I should get over there sometime.

  4. Laurie says:

    Lucky you! I wish I could pass along advice on what to visit, but my trips to Europe were so long ago, I wouldn’t be able to guarantee pubs, etc. still existed.

  5. Yeah it's Dan. says:

    Regretfully, I have not been to London in more than 20 years, except for layovers (which don’t count for me!) But I remember wishing that i had a lifetime to spend at the National Gallery.

  6. I’ve not been to London, but my husband and I did a tour of Scotland a few years ago. Our favorites were the castles. I think we toured dozens and never got tired of them. The tour guides were fantastic! They could tell the best ghost stories.

    • I’ve been to Scotland as well, and I loved it! Edinburgh Castle is probably in my top three. Stirling Castle was also quite nice, and it is where I discovered brie cheese, for which I will be eternally grateful.
      You’ve also sparked an idea – I must post on my experiences in York (we’re back in England, now). The ghost tours there are excellent! So, thanks!

Leave a Reply

